top of page

Food Photography: How to Take Dynamic Shots on a Budget


One of the most crucial pieces of information I was taught in culinary school is " We eat with our eyes." People love to eat things that are visually appealing. This is why plating was one of the concepts that had its own class. As an entrepreneur, I realized I could make a plate look great in person but wasn't sure how to photograph it. At that time I had a Samsung S7 and phones didn't have the cameras on them that they do now. I took pictures without knowing how lighting and color palates could affect my pictures.


Staging is Key to telling the story

Once I found out what my issues were when it came to my photos such as lighting. I did some research. I went to YouTube and found a page called The Bite Shot. Joanie Simon taught me all the essentials of lighting and how you could create moods in your photos. Not only that but how to get cheap props to make your photos tell a story. Staging your photos and adding motion to them makes it easier for the viewer to imagine what having that product would be like. There are many ways one can tell a story with a photo. Using interesting backdrops and props can help paint the picture.



Where Can I Find Affordable Props?

Goodwill

Target Dollar Spot

Five Below

Michael's

pOp shelf


Taking Joanie's advice I went to my local Goodwill and started looking for flatware and crockery. I looked for pieces that I could visualize seeing my baked goods on. Personally, I love square plates to me they add more balance. Goodwill is a great place to find unique plates with character.



The Target dollar spot has many seasonal items that come into the store. You can find many props: tea towels, faux plants, glass vases, and various risers and plates. Most of which aren't any more than 5 dollars each. Target's Opal House collection also has many options for unique plate ware.


Five below has plenty of options for photography props such as faux plants and customizable decor like letter boards. These items are helpful for displays for pop-up shops.


2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page